Pigs really do fly!

Image

Yaletown’s first impressions…I think of it as a social scene where beautiful people come together and play (I hope Events and Adventure’s didn’t trademark that)! The beefy guys bulk up with steaks while their delicate girlfriends pick at their salads. Its cute but not for a country gal like myself. I was reluctant at first but hey, I’m a risk taker.

The restaurant opened up in 2011 and continues to win awards which keeps people waiting at the door (they don’t accept reservations). They tied 3rd place for 2012’s “Best New Casual Restaurant” from the Georgia Straight. I was curious to see what all the hype was about so I was on my way to indulge at the Flying Pig. Check out what went in ma bellay!

To start I had the Artisan Meat + Cheese Board that featured cured meats, local cheese, and spicy olives.

meatandcheese

For my main dish I had the Pan seared Halibut Cheeks with Yukon Gold potato gnocchi.

halibut

For the finale I ordered a Maple Sugar Pie with yet another glass of Cab-Merlot and thus I am not RespOsole for whateveer I sayu or do happems aftyerwards.

maplesugarpie

The Flying Pig is a cozy restaurant with country flare. You are comfortably surrounded by warm colors of oak and red brick walls. The food styling lacks originality but the quality of ingredients certainly is emphasized here. I am happy to recommend this place to anyone looking to dine with friends.

Thoughts of where I should eat next? Comments? Random words?

I’d love to hear from you!

– Teresa QuachEats

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pigs really do fly!

  1. melissanilan says:

    Try El Azteca Tequila Lounge, also in Yaletown. They are amazing.

    • quacheats says:

      Hi Melissa,

      Sorry for the late response, I just got back from eating lots in maui lol. I will definitely try El Azteca Tequila Lounge sometime and get back to ya šŸ™‚ thanks for the suggestion!

      -Teresa (QuachEats)

  2. thejmetcalf says:

    I went to the Flying Pig for brunch … it’s interesting that you mention they don’t take reservations because it’s the first thing they asked when we arrived. I, too, was under that impression but we were hustled to the bar as the half empty restaurant was clearly “reserved”. This is purely Fraser Valley “suburbanitus” speaking but I always get the sense that restaurants in Vancouver see me coming a mile away and don’t afford me the same courtesy they would to their co-residents of the big city. Or it’s my envy that they live there seeping through! Either way, we ‘bellied up’ so to speak and were delighted by the numerous servers we encountered … many worked the bar area and always checked in on their way by. The food was DELISH. I noshed on the French Toast with Maple Blueberry Compote. Loved it. Aside from the annoying reservations question when we entered, I would definitely return to the Flying Pig for the delicious eats and fun atmosphere. Great blog! You had me laugh out loud a few times and the pictures made me want to return to try out the dinner eats.

    • quacheats says:

      Hey,

      Thanks so much for the wonderful comment, I really enjoyed reading it! Maybe one day I’ll blog about how to act, dress and talk like a Vancouverite! lol

      -Teresa (QuachEats)

Leave a Reply

