For your sweetheart this Valentines…

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can you feel the love tonight? I quoted the Lion King because that song is so darn romantic and love is definitely in the air…well more like Valentine’s products are being sold everywhere you go so it’s hard not to get into the spirit!

I was in Granville Island 2 years ago and one of the bakeries there sold these colourful round shaped “cookie things with stuff in the center”.  My boyfriend told me that it was a macaron, a French pastry that I should try.  I asked for one of each colour, took a bite of the flaky crust and the buttercream filling melted in my mouth…errmm what just happened?

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I instantly became OBSESSED with macarons.  Not only did I have a sudden urge to go search for other bakeries and coffee shops that sold them, I had to learn to make them. I would highly recommend Soirette for the wide selection in flavours and Thierry for the fresh fruit-centered macarons.

Once I became an expert at eating them, I purchased books on macarons, took a macaron baking class and to date, I can comfortably estimate that I’ve baked a few hundreds to family, friends and of course, my sweetheart.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What I haven’t done yet is get creative with the shapes of the Macarons and what a perfect way to make it look extra special.  Who doesn’t love hearts!  I found this lovely blog that has beautiful photos and a great recipe. Go big or go home! Here it is: Heart Shaped Macaron Recipe.

Tips:

I would like to emphasize is that if you want to achieve a deep red color, you’ll have to use gel food coloring. Otherwise no matter how much liquid red you use, you’ll forever see pink (and that’s okay too).

When you are done piping the batter, make sure you give it enough time to dry. How do you know? You’ll lightly put your finger over it and if it doesn’t make an imprint, put them in the oven 🙂

Let me know what your favourite dessert place to go to is or what you like to bake.

I’d love to hear from you.

xoxo

Teresa QuachEats, Macaron Lover

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to For your sweetheart this Valentines…

  1. Akanksha says:

    hey…wat 2 say…this post looks so tempting & delicious.. 🙂
    It would be great if u can share more on wat V-Day means to u on:
    http://akanksharastogi.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/valentines-day-what-does-it-mean/
    I am just making an effort 2 collect on wat ppl across the world think of this day…

  2. Loved this option and can say that I think that I just gained about 10 lbs by looking at the red velvet heart cakes and the macarons. Great tie in with Valentine’s Day and although I would like to try one, I think that I am going to have to take the option of just buying one, rather than having a dozen in my home which I know would entail gaining 15 lbs actually. Thanks for this and I love the thought.

  3. Katharine S. says:

    Macaroons are by far some of my favorite treats as well. Have you tried the ones from Faubourg? Not only their macaroons but everything is heavenly divine! http://www.faubourg.com/
    I have yet to try making macaroons myself as they can be tricky but may have to now! Where did you take the macaroon class at?

    • quacheats says:

      Hi Katherine,

      No I have yet to try Faubourg. Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll definitely put it on my list of places to try! I took a macaron class in langley called Well Seasoned.

      Best,

      Teresa

      • Helen says:

        Be sure to bring me with you. I love the tea they serve at Faubourg. I have yet to try their macarons 😉

        And I totally agree that Soirette and Thierry are the best in Vancouver. Although Leonidas at Canada Place is pretty amazing too!

      • quacheats says:

        I’d love to take you with me when I do end up going. I’ll Facebook you and we’ll invite friends and it’ll be amazing 🙂

  4. Kelsey says:

    Thanks for sharing! I’ve been meaning to attempt to make macarons and this really inspired and encouraged me to try out the recipe and get the ball rolling in time for Valentine’s Day!
    Cheers,
    Kels from MKTG

  5. hh says:

    Great idea for Valentine’s day. They look very good. Just don’t know people don’t think about it earlier.

    Ho Hang

  6. genidea says:

    yummy, thanks for a great idea!

  7. Nifty says:

    Delicious, sweet, and romantic 🙂

  8. Helen says:

    Cute blog, Ms Quach! Looking forward to reading your future posts 🙂 🙂

  9. laurenjhenry says:

    Yummy! I had a really got (albeit very sweet) macaron in San Francisco a few weeks ago. I love all things sweet.

Leave a Reply

